Since WhatsApp is such a sizeable messaging platform, it needs to take extra measures to ensure the safety and comfort of all its users. One of these measures includes allowing users to block any contacts. So, if you feel that any of your communications are fake, unsafe, or harmful in any way, you can simply stop them.
This means that they will not be able to message, call or contact you in any way through this application. So, you must be careful of your activity on WhatsApp as anyone can easily block you without you getting notified. If you suspect that you have been blocked by someone but are not sure, there are some tell-tale signs to confirm your suspicions.
- The “Last Seen” Status:
- Open the chat of the contact who you think has blocked you.
- Under their name, look for the “last seen” status. If it does not appear, then that person may have blocked you.
This method is not highly reliable because WhatsApp now allows users to hide their last seen status through privacy settings. However, it is still one of the signs which determine if someone has blocked you or not.
- The Profile Picture:
Another way to tell if someone has blocked you on WhatsApp is to check their profile picture. If you can no longer see it, it means that you have been blocked. However, the contact may have coincidentally removed their profile picture for personal reasons. Therefore, this method does not always wholly confirm whether you have been blocked or not.
The best way to check is to ask one of your mutual friends if they can view that contact’s profile picture. If they can view it but you cannot, it is confirmed that the connection has really blocked you.
- Creating a WhatsApp Group:
One of the more reliable ways to check if someone has blocked you is to add them to a WhatsApp group. When you do so, you get a pop-up message saying that you are not permitted to add that contact. This method is very effective and quickly confirms if you have been blocked by someone.
- The Tick Marks:
Whenever you send a message on WhatsApp, a single tick appears with it. This indicates that the message has been delivered from your end. When two ticks appear, it means that the message has been received by the recipient. And when the two ticks turn blue, you know that the person has read your notice.
If you send a message to a contact and the single tick remains for an extended period, it means that they have blocked you. This is because the tick will stay single and does not turn blue. However, this also happens if the contact does not have a stable internet connection and cannot receive the message. Though this is not a very reliable method, it can help you determine whether or not a contact has blocked you.
- Making Calls on WhatsApp:
If you suspect that someone has blocked you on WhatsApp, you can try calling them to confirm. If the call does not go through, that is, if it does not turn from “Calling” to “Ringing”, and you do not hear a ringing sound, it means that your suspicions are confirmed. However, this method is not a hundred percent reliable because this also happens if the contact does not have an active internet connection.
These are all the methods that can help you determine whether someone has blocked you on WhatsApp. Though not all of them are reliable, they can still give you a perfect idea about your